Infosys bags “IT Ratna of Karnataka” award at Bengaluru Tech Summit 

Bengaluru: Homegrown technology firm Infosys on Monday bagged the coveted ‘IT Ratna of Karnataka’ award from the Government of Karnataka. The company, headquartered in Bengaluru, was felicitated for registering IT exports to the tune of more than Rs 10,000 crore in the financial year 2018-19. 

The award was presented by Deputy Chief Minister CH Ashwath Narayana during the 22nd Bengaluru Tech Summit here in the City. In all, over 30 tech firms were honoured by the government as part of its Startup Technology Parks of India (STPI) awards that aims to recognise the economic contributions of tech firms to the state of Karnataka. 

During the ceremony, seventeen firms were conferred with ‘IT Pride of Karnataka’ for registering IT exports to the tune of Rs 2,000 crore to less than Rs 10,000 crore in 2018-19 FY. Some of the companies include: Accenture, Dell International Services, EIT Services, Goldman Sachs, IBM, Intel Technology, JP Morgan Services, Mindtree, Oracle, Qualcomm, Robert Bosch Engineering & Business Solutions, Samsung R&D Institute India, SAP Labs, Schneider Electric IT Business, Tata Consultancy Services, Tech Mahindra and VMware Software. 

Global firm Technicolor India Pvt. Ltd. was honoured for creating the highest number of jobs in Bengaluru during the 2018-19 FY. 

As part of the government’s effort to decongest Bengaluru and create jobs in tier II and tier III cities of Karnataka, it also recognised companies that are doing extremely well in other parts of the state. L&T Technology Services and KarMic Design were felicitated for being the highest exporters in Mysuru and Mangalore respectively.

On the concluding day of the summit on Wednesday, the government plans to honour nine unicorns of Bengaluru for their entrepreneurial success and putting Bengaluru in a global map. The awardees are: Sachin Bansal (Flipkart), Hari Menon (Big Basket), Bhavish Aggarwal (Ola Cabs), Naveen Tewari (InMobi), Nandan Reddy (Swiggy), Dhiraj Rajaram (Mu Sigma), Pranay Chulet (Quikr), Byju Raveendran (Byju’s) and Sujeet Kumar (Udaan).